The Well of Remembrance 

Rediscovering the Earth Wisdom Myths of Northern Europe

 

Ralph Metzner

Foreword by Marija Gimbutas

with contributions by Bärbel Kreidt, Norbert Mayer and Christian Rätsch.

 

1994. Boston, MA: Shambhala Publications.

 

German edition: Der Brunnen der Erinnerung

                               Die mythologischen und schamanisichen Wurzeln unserer Kultur

2012. Arun Verlag. www.arun-verlag.de

 

This book presents a compelling picture of this little-understood tradition that is the hidden heritage of so many Americans: the god Odin and his relentless quest for knowledge: Freya, the goddess of sexuality, abundance, and seership; the shamans, warriors, and priestesses; the magical plants and symbols. The riches of this spiritual path are still abundantly available to all--and eternally relevant on both personal and global levels. 376pp.

 

 

 

 

Readers' Comments on The Well of Remembrance

 

The Well of Remebrance is Roots for Euro-Americans. A long overdue exploration of ancient Germanic-Celtic myths that may help us recover our forgotten ecological wisdom. 
-- Sam Keen, author of Fire in the Belly and Hymns to an Unknown God.

 

 This significant and timely work lets us hear the ancestral voices of ancient Europe, offering celebration of life and guidance in the arts of reconciliation. 
-- Joanna Macy, author of World as Lover, World as Self

 

Ralph Metzner's intimate knowledge of nonordinary states of consciousness, impeccable scholarship, and creative vision provide a fascinating journey through north European mythology. 
-- Stanislav Grof, author of Beyond the Brain and The Holotropic Mind

 

Stunning - a sourcebook with immediate application to the most urgent issues of our contemporary world. Metzner's exploration of the roots of the Western psyche is in the tradition of Campbell, Eliade and Jung, but in his penetrating understanding of the industrial impasse, as well as in his focus on the pre-Christian Germanic mythology and its relevance for us today, he goes beyond what anyone before him has yet offered.
-- Brian Swimme, author of The Universe Story

 

Metzner's fresh look at the mythology of northern Europe skillfully rescues these grand protean forms from their sad misassociations with the excesses of German fascism. The original power of the story of Odin to move and to restore us is presented in a scholarly and thoroughly fascinating way.
-- Terence McKenna, author the Food of the Gods

 

Ralph Metzner is a conscientious truth-seeker who never avoids the difficult or arduous path. In this courageous and challenging book, he accepts the request of the dishonored gods of poetry and prophecy to re-view the long-denigrated culture of the early Norse and Germanic peoples so that we may be reconnected to the visionary, shamanic, earth-centered traditions in the mythology.
-- Deena Metzger, author of Writing Your Life

 

An invaluable resource and rich treasury for people of European and varied backgrounds to reclaim their inherent mythic roots and Earth-honoring wisdom.
-- Angeles Arrien, author of The Four-Fold Way and Signs of Life. 

This book is a guide to the next step in the effort of Europeans and Euro-Americans to heal ourselves, our sad society, and the Earth: recovering ourselves as Earth-centered peoples. I take strength from the Well of Remembrance; it leads me to and through my long-buried lineage. 
-- Chellis Glendinning, author of My Name is Chellis, and I'm in Recovery from Western Civilization.

 

Metzner explains that by listening to and reflecting on these ancient forest gods of our ancestors we may once again drink from the well of remembrance in order to know our place within the ongoing life of Nature and thus stop the destruction of both our human life and the forests."
-- Dolores LaChapelle, author of Sacred Land, Sacred Sex.